Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Project winners named

OREGON – Ogle County 4-H’ers were recognized for excellence in 4-H project work at the Nov. 13 4-H Achievement Celebration at Byron Junior High School Theater.

The program featured the presentation of numerous awards including the “County Project Honor Award.” The award rewards 4-H youth for outstanding accomplishments in specific project areas of their choosing. In addition to efforts to gain knowledge about their favorite project area, youth get points toward this award through participation in club, county, state, and international events, and through leadership practices. Two levels are recognized: silver and gold. All 4-H’ers are eligible to win the award annually.

This year’s winners are:

Gold Project Honor

Rochelle: Callie Ackland, rabbits; Carley Ackland, reading; Katelyn Ackland, clothing and textiles; Megan Ackland, computer; Ava Coglianese, rabbits; Liberty Hayes, horse and pony; Amanda Headon, horse and pony; Nathan Keys, vegetable gardening; Kyra Rimstidt, pygmy goats; Megan Seebach, horse and pony; Veronica Vaughn, dogs; Cassidy Vincent, horse and pony

Polo: Abigail Akins, swine; Isaac Akins, woodworking; Isaiah Akins, geology; Stephanie Sofolo, citizenship

Byron: Tommy Allen, geology; Teddy Beauchem, horse and pony; Carson Conderman, visual arts; Carter Conderman, electricity; Collin Conderman, photography; Lauren Carlson, citizenship; Natalie Carlson, leadership; William Carlson, food and nutrition; Alexandria Cassens, interior design; Nicholas Cassens, swine; Allison Druien, rabbits; Abraham Eden, welding; Maggie Eden, food and nutrition; Bruce Gehrke, beef; Renee Gehrke, beef; Kate Harland, visual arts; Aubree Jaspers, beef; Natalie Ketter, photography; Elizabeth McKinstry-Sherburn, consumer education; Conner Reeverts, swine; Ryan Reeverts, swine; Lydia Sherburne, veterinary science

Chana: Brenna Berns, horse and pony; Lane Halverson, woodworking; Emma-Kay Hunderman, rabbits; Braden Rogers, Chana, dairy goats

Freeport: Casey Besse, beef; Tyler Besse, beef

Rockford: Kade Boatman, beef; Kendall Boatman, beef

Oregon: Katelyn Bowers, child development; Samantha Bowers, veterinary science; Mariah Drake, poultry; Chelsea Eden, swine; Levi Eden, swine; Jackson Glendenning, beef; Jared Glendenning, beef; Andrew Hinrichs, small engines; Bryan Immel, woodworking; Wesley Immel, visual arts; Katrina Lowry, beef; Anna Marquardt, visual arts; Faith Marquardt, health; Allissa Martin, beef; Bode Martin, beef; Casey Martin, beef; Karli Miller, health; Kyle Miller, forestry; Jordan Mingus, natural resources; Abigail Mongan, rabbits; Grace Mongan, clothing and textiles; Sarah Murray, horse and pony; Brenna Noon, dairy cattle; Gracie Prose, clothing and textiles; Johnathan Prose, interior design; Jaden Scott, woodworking; Jazmyne Swope, child development; Olivia Thomas, poultry; Abbie Ring, meat goats; Anna Ring, beef; Kelly Stranberg, video; Olivia Stranberg, do your own thing

Mount Morris: Kaedi Callaway, clothing and textiles, Brady Davis, horse and pony; Alex Grygiel, beef; Danielle Hagemann, beef; Megan Hagemann, food and nutrition; Rebecca Hough, poultry; Robert Hough V, tractor; Evan Kosick, beef; Garret Moser, crops; Emmett Peterson, poultry; Abigail Wehler, visual arts; Micah Wehler, entomology; Rachael Wetzel, exploratory; Madalin Russell, theater arts: Xander Schier, vegetable gardening

Monroe Center: Aubrey Craig, swine; Jackson Craig, swine; Anna Hagemann, visual arts; Autumn Hagemann, crops

Leaf River: Isaac Charbonneau, poultry; Kaden Lingbeck, forestry; Kaeden Motszko, tractor, Hannah Sheely, photography; Ashley Williams, visual arts; Lacie Williams, dairy cattle; Taylor Yordy, horse and pony

Stillman Valley: Grace Costello, small engines; Samantha Malk, cats; Kallista McIntyre sheep; Blakelynn Swanson, sheep

Forreston: Casey DeVries, poultry

Lindenwood: Garrett Hackbarth, sheep; Jacob Hackbarth, sheep; Eric Seaworth, swine, Hannah Seaworth, swine

Dixon: Julia Heller, food and nutrition

Davis Junction: Matthew Hickey, tractor; Justin Simpson, photography

Franklin Grove: Joshua Mallette, visual arts; Connor Ross, intercultural

Clinton, Wisconsin: Dalissa Moser, sheep

Creston: Danica Ward, food and nutrition

Silver Project Honor

Mount Morris: Logan Arvigo, horse and pony; Julie Davis, horse and pony

Byron: Paige Beauchem, rabbits; Maddie Harland, visual arts

Leaf River: Ethan Bocker, aerospace, Aidan Yordy, beef

Lindenwood: Matthew Drendel, beef; Anna Roush, visual arts; Faith Roush, visual arts; Lila Roush, veterinary science

Oregon: Michaela Eden, swine; Adam Glendenning, beef; Sabrina Leather, food and nutrition; Seth Rote, rabbits; Alex Stranberg, visual arts

Davis Junction: Cole Roach, swine

Stillman Valley: Michelle Johnson, visual arts

German Valley: Hannah Schnierla, photography

Rochelle: Sienna Seebach, vegetable gardening, Abby Yagow, sheep

Baileyville: Dylon Timmer, woodworking

Monroe Center: Luke Tompkin, rabbits

Dixon: Jordyn West, photography, Jozey West-Moore, food and nutrition

Gold Cloverbud Winners

Ogle County 4-H’ers between the ages of 5 and 7 are known as Cloverbuds. Those who obtain a score of 40 or above on the Cloverbud County Project Honor Award Application are recipients of the Cloverbud Project Honor Award.

This year’s Cloverbud winners are:

Polo: Bethany Akins, Marley Linboom

Oregon: Jayden Berry, Justin Collins, Aiden Currier, Eli Lotz, Philip Winters, Dylan McDowell, Katlyn Miller

Leaf River: Emilee Bocker, Lily Sasscer, Addison Yordyr

Stillman Valley: Kate Costello

Rochelle: Yessenia Garcia, Katheryn Groves, Annaliese Koziol, Joaquin Marin

Byron: Colton Gehrke

Mount Morris: Cian Grygiel, Jakob Moser, Noelle Rodriquez, Zakkary West, Mason Zabran

Monroe Center: Jessie Hagemann, Audrey Payne, Sydney Tompkins

Chana: Wyatt Hunderman

Ashton: Jada Ramirez

German Valley: Christian Ryia

Top 30 Award Winners

A percentage of 4-H’ers were selected from among the silver and gold County Project Honor winners, in each of three age groups, to receive the Top 30 Award. This award is given to 4-H’ers for thoroughness of records; comprehensiveness of project coverage; appropriateness of goals set; learning documented; overall size and scope of 4-H experience; educational experiences, community service efforts, and leadership efforts in project areas; involvement in club and beyond; and record book organization and appearance enhancements.

Winners are: Katelyn Ackland, Megan Ackland, Tommy Allen, Brenna Berns, Casey Besse, Tyler Besse, Kade Boatman, Kendall Boatman, Lauren Carlson, Natalie Carlson, Alexandria Cassens, Jackson Craig, Julie Davis, Levi Eden, Jackson Glendenning, Jared Glendenning, Anna Hagemann, Danielle Hagemann, Megan Hagemann, R.G. Hough V, Rebecca Hough, Faith Marquardt, Allissa Martin, Bode Martin, Grace Mongan, Johnathan Prose, Kyra Rimstidt, Abbie Ring, Braden Rogers, Megan Seebach

Loading more